Nursing Opportunities

The HSE strives to foster a family-friendly work environment that enables all employees to embrace the organisation’s core values:

  1. Care
  2. Compassion
  3. Trust
  4. Learning

The HSE operates its services with a patient and client-centric approach in hospitals and communities across the country through its Divisions, Hospital Groups and Community Healthcare Organisations.

Hospital Groups

There are seven hospital groups in the acute hospitals system which is designed to ensure patients can access appropriate treatment in the right setting, receive the best possible clinical outcomes and provide sustainability for hospital services into the future.

This approach is intended to allow for appropriate integration and improve patient flow across the continuum of care whilst delivering safe patient care in a cost-effective manner. Each grouping includes a primary academic partner which will stimulate a culture of learning and openness to change within the hospital group.

Community Healthcare Organisations

There are nine Community Healthcare Organisations (CHOs) within the Irish Health System responsible for the delivery of primary and community-based services responsive to the needs of local communities.

Each CHO focuses on the implementation of nationally agreed standardised models of care for each care group, bringing a local community focus to service delivery, and ensuring integrated services are provided to their primary care networks, serving average populations of 50,000. Community Healthcare services focus on keeping people well so that they can continue to live at home or close to home through the CHO health promotion, disease screening, diagnosis, treatment and rehabilitation programmes.